Locos History PDF  | Print |  E-mail

Originally named the Lima Blues, the Lima Locos are one of the founding members of the Great Lakes Summer Collegiate League. Playing their first season in 1987, the Lima Blues finished third among the original six GLSCL teams. The early success attracted the atttention of a group of local businessmen from Lima, OH who purchased the Blues and changed the team's name to the Lima Locos for the 1988 season.

In 1991, the Locos moved their home games from the campus of Ohio State University, Lima to the field at suburban Shawnee High School. While this moved the team outside of the city, it actually was a great improvement to the facilities the team called home. As opposed to the OSU Lima field, the quality lighting of Shawnee allowed the Lima Locos to host night games for the first time.

In 2008, the Locos worked out a long-term agreement with the City of Lima that allowed them to move the team back into the city limits to play their home games at Simmons Field.

Like other Summer Collegiate Baseball teams, the Lima Locos are dedicated and designed to providing minor league level competition for NCAA players that wish to continue on into professional baseball. The Locos operate in a similar manner to a Minor League team: playing nightly in stadiums before fans, using wood bats and minor league specification equipment, and experiencing road trips between games. Like all other summer collegiate players, they are unpaid in order to maintain their NCAA eligibility, and live with host families in the same manner as Single A and Independent League players.

The Lima Locos are the only remaining team from the original six teams of the Great Lakes Summer Collegiate League. 


Locos In Action

  • Theme Joomla - Free and Commercial Joomla Templates, Components and Modules

  • HubStar - Central Hub for Manta Online (Hosting and Domain Services), Theme Joomla (Joomla! CMS Solutions) and Digital Design Media (Site Design and Digital Art Solutions)

Past Head Coaches

1987 – Fred Hattery
1988 – Darren Mazerowski
1989 – Darren Mazerowski
1990 – Roger Ingles
1991 – Robert Livchak
1992 – Robert Livchak
1993 – Robert Livchak
1994 – Robert Livchak
1995 – (1st Half) David Martin
1995 – (2nd Half) Robert Livchak
1996 – Robert Livchak
1997 – Erick Hagen
1998 – Erick Hagen
1999 – Erick Hagen
2000 – Robert Livchak
2001 – Robert Livchak
2002 – Robert Livchak
2003 – Robert Livchak
2004 – Robert Livchak
2005 – Robert Livchak
2006 – Robert Livchak
2007 – Robert Livchak
2008 – Robert Livchak  

Team Logos

2007 to Present

Logo Present

2004 to 2006


Contact The Locos

Lima Locos Baseball
825 S. Cable Rd.
Lima, Ohio 45805

Phone: 419-22-LOCOS



Web Hosting